Flash, flash, flash!

415V+Lj1IeLSo June turned out to be a busy month…

Firstly I found out my flash story The Way We Lie was chosen for Sleep Is A Beautiful Colour, the National Flash Fiction Day anthology for 2017. It’s a great collection of short fiction with some genuinely renowned names among the contributors, including Etgar Keret, Robert Shapard, Bobby Ann Mason, Nuala Ní Chonchúir, Meg Pokrass and Angela Readman.

If you decide to buy the book (which you should do, whoever you are) please note that my story does not reflect on my own life at all – none of my underwear is baggy. I’ll leave it at that…

Then I was Guest Speaker at Novel Nights a live monthly literary event in Bristol. As the name suggests the guests are usually novelists (or agents or publishers) talking about their books, their practice and their craft. But this month I was invited to share some thoughts on how writing (and reading) short fiction can help authors improve their work. I also got a chance to read some longer stories that don’t normally get an airing.

And just a week later, I was reading and running a workshop at the UK’s first ever Flash Fiction Festival in Bath, with saw many of the UK’s best flash fiction writers gathering to share their work, their thoughts and basically to have a chat and a laugh. It proved a great success and looks likely to go ahead again next year.

 

