Some sweet news from Words With Jam

1915622_175372673604_4608721_nVery pleased to have picked up a winner’s place in the Words With Jam Shorter Story Competition, for Giraffe High. The competition was judged by Sam Jordison who writes on books for the Guardian, among other things.I also got shortlisted with the other story I entered, so a decent return all round.

Words With Jam doesn’t offer huge cash prizes, but it is well thought of, and definitely a good one for new and emerging writers. I think there might be an anthology of winning stories to be published at some point, but if you want to read Giraffe High, it’s now available online. 

I’m glad this one has found a home, it was shortlisted for the Bristol Short Story Prize in 2014 and then sat waiting to go out for what seemed a long time. I think it also shows that you can sometimes take familiar subjects and bring out something interesting.

Anyway, congratulations to all the winners and runners up. There’s a few names I recognise, including short story winner Catherine Edmunds, who I know from Alex Keegan’s BootCamp. Another demonstration that the Bootcamp method works.

One thought on “Some sweet news from Words With Jam

Comments are closed.