It’s raining anthologies

imagesAny short story writer worth his or her salt will tell you what what successes are like, you wait ages for one and then a load come together.

So, hard on the heels of news that one of my short stories will be on the education curriculum in Texas for the next ten years – yes that’s right, Texas and no, I’m not quite sure how that happened either – I found out that a Canadian publisher wants to publish one of my stories in an anthology (still sorting the details on that one).

Then I find out one of my stories is being published in an anthology as a Runner Up in the Words With Jam competition. Which is nice, particularly as I won the flash fiction category of the same competition last year, judged by Zoe Fairbairns (you can see more about Zoe at www.zoefairbairns.co.uk).

Not only did I get to meet and have a all to brief chat with Zoe at the anthology launch (which, by the way, is still available on Amazon) in a room above Foyles Bookshop in London, but there was also miniature food available, which gave me and Mrs E an opportunity to pretend we were giants gatecrashing a buffet. A great and diverting game for at least 5-10 minutes if you ever get the chance to play.

And it appears that one of my flash stories will also be appearing in this year’s Lightship Publishing anthology (though I’m not entirely sure when) and another very, very short flash fiction will get its 15 minutes of fame in the Leodegraunce Fiction Anthology sometime this year.

For now though, its back to waiting and hoping, as ever.

